Obi Toppin Named 2020 Naismith College Player of the Year: How the Last 20 Winners Turned Out

Jordan Cohn
April 03, 2020 - 4:43 pm

The Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year award is one of the biggest honors available to NCAA athletes. Obi Toppin of Dayton was just announced as the most recent recipient of the prestigious award after he led the Flyers to a potential No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament and average 20 points and 7.5 rebounds per game on 63.3% shooting.

The award undoubtedly helps Toppin's case to be a lottery draft pick or even top-five selection despite the mid-major school at which he played. Many of the recipients of this award are hallowed as basketball's all-time greats. Michael Jordan, Larry Bird, Tim Duncan and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar are just some of the legends that have claimed the Naismith Trophy en route to Hall of Fame careers.

However, as impressive as winning this award is, it by no means sets you on a definite path toward NBA superstardom. In fact, a staggering amount of winners have actually struggled to establish themselves as stars once they get to the NBA.

Here's a look at every winner since 2000, along with how their NBA careers panned out or are going so far.

All stats retrieved from Basketball Reference and Sports Reference.

Follow RADIO.COM Sports
Twitter | Facebook I Instagram

Comments ()